The SCSC is governed by a board of commissioners who are nominated by the Governor (three seats), the Lieutenant Governor (two seats) and the Speaker of the House of Representatives (two seats) and appointed by the State Board of Education. 


Buzz Brockway

Buzz Brockway, Chair

Speaker of the House's Nominee, 2019-2020

Mr. Buzz Brockway is a former member of the Georgia House of Representatives and the current Vice President of Public Policy for the Georgia Center for Opportunity.

Tony Lowden

Tony Lowden, Vice-Chair

Lt. Governor's Nominee, 2020-2022

Tony Lowden founded and served as Executive Director of STONE Academy, an after-school enrichment program for at-risk children in the Macon-Bibb County area. He has served as pastor at Strong Tower Fellowship and youth pastor at Lundy Chapel Missionary Baptist Church in Macon.  He has also served as youth director at Fellowship Bible Baptist Church in Warner Robins as well as in other leadership capacities in numerous civic organizations in Middle Georgia.

Mike Dudgeon

Mike Dudgeon

Lt. Governor's Nominee, 2021-2025

Mike Dudgeon is the Chief Research Officer for the startup LifeBell AI where he is working on using artificial intelligence to save lives by predicting sepsis. In the public sector, Mike served on the Forsyth County Board of Education, was a State Representative in the Georgia House from Forsyth County, and also was Policy Director for Georgia Lieutenant Governor Geoff Duncan. While in the legislature he was Vice Chair of the Education Committee and also was very involved in energy and budget issues. He previously served as chair of the founding board of the charter school Fulton Academy of Science and Technology.

Fitz Headshot

Fitz Johnson

Governor's Nominee, 2021-2025

Fitz Johnson is a businessman, a 21-year veteran of the U.S. Army, and a long-time Cobb County resident. He has vast experiences in building and leading companies as well as non-profits, driving growth and producing positive results. 

Dr. Lina Millan

Lina Millan

Governor's Nominee, 2020-2022

Dr. Lina Millan is an OBGYN in Athens, GA. Dr. Millan is originally from Atlanta, Georgia, where she received her undergraduate degree from Emory University and completed medical school at the Medical College of Georgia. She went on to complete her residency in OB/GYN at West Virginia University.

Jose Perez

Jose Perez

Speaker of the House's Nominee, 2019-2021

Mr. Jose Perez is a former member of the State Board of Education representing the 7th Congressional District and the current leader of Target Market Trends, Inc. (TMT), a business consulting firm that helps clients develop strategies to increase earnings.